List Of All Public And Private Sector Banks In India 2023

In India, banks are the most conventional form of financial middleman. They are critical in directing own family finances in the direction of both structured and unorganised industries. Indian Commercial Banks, Industrial Banks, Exchange Banks, Agricultural Banks, Cooperative Banks, and Indigenous Bankers include the Indian Banking System. The Reserve Bank of India serves as the gadget’s principal financial institution.

Types of Banks
Indian banks are labeled into 4 most important types:

Commercial Banks: These are in addition categorized into
Public Sector Banks – The government owns maximum of the inventory. Punjab National Bank, State Bank of India, Central Bank of India, and other establishments are examples of public sector banks.
Private Sector Banks – Private individuals own the majority of the stake. Private banks include establishments like HDFC Bank, ICICI Bank, AXIS Bank, and so forth.
Regional rural banks,
Foreign banks – Foreign banks are those with their company headquarters placed outside of India. Standard Chartered, American Express, Citibank, and different institutions are examples of overseas area banks.
Small Finance Banks
Payments Banks
Cooperative Banks

List of Public Sector Banks

Bank NameEstablishmentHeadquarter
Bank of Baroda1908Vadodara, Gujrat
Bank of India 1906Mumbai, Maharashtra
Bank of Maharashtra1935Pune, Maharashtra
Canara Bank1906Bengaluru, Karnataka 
Central Bank of India1911Mumbai, Maharashtra
Indian Overseas Bank1937Chennai, Tamil Nadu
Punjab and Sind Bank1908New Delhi, Delhi 
State Bank of India 1955Mumbai, Maharashtra
UCO Bank1943Kolkata, West Bengal
Union Bank of India1919Mumbai, Maharashtra
Punjab National Bank1894New Delhi, Delhi
Indian Bank1907Chennai, Tamil Nadu

List of Private Sector Banks

Bank NameEstablishmentHeadquarter
Axis Bank1993Mumbai, Maharashtra
Bandhan Bank2015Kolkata, West Bengal
CSB Bank1920Thrissur, Kerala
City Union Bank1904Thanjavur, Tamil Nadu
DCB Bank1930Mumbai, Maharashtra
Dhanlaxmi Bank1927Thrissur, Kerala
Federal Bank1931Aluva, Kerala
HDFC Bank1994Mumbai, Maharashtra
ICICI Bank1994Mumbai, Maharashtra
Induslnd Bank1964Mumbai, Maharashtra
IDFC First Bank2015Mumbai, Maharashtra
Jammu and Kashmir Bank1938Srinagar, Jammu and Kashmir
Karnataka Bank1924Mangaluru, Karnatka
Karur Vysya Bank1916Karur, Tamil Nadu
Kotak Mahindra Bank2003Mumbai, Maharashtra
IDBI Bank1964Mumbai, Maharashtra
Nainital Bank1922Nainital, Uttrakhand
RBL Bank1943Mumbai, Maharashtra
South Indian Bank1929Thrissur, Kerala
Tamilnad Mercantile Bank1921Toothukudi, Tamil Nadu
YES Bank2004Mumbai, Maharashtra

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: